Monthly Update – Apr 24

Image by tigerlily713 from Pixabay

It’s the last day of the month and I have just updated my spreadsheets. As is normal practice, the month has ended down overall. It seems that after the rush to use up all the tax allowances, the investments all drop a little in price and value by the end of the month. it just shows how certain events boost returns and values while there is a rush and heat in the market to get your UK investment allowances used up before the tax year closes. I am hoping that my investments grow this year as I want to feel that I am in a good position. I am trying to keep a positive view on life at the moment.

I have been trying to improve my diet and have been out exercising and trying to stay active. The UK weather is still not really helping but I will try and ignore it and make the best when I can. I have just come back from a short break in the Lake District. I haven’t been there for some years now, mainly because it became too over populated with tourists and the costs became too high. I found a nice place in the north Lakes and managed to get a few walks in around Ullswater and Derwentwater. The weather did pick up and I had some great sunshine and dry days to enable the walking to be enjoyable. I stopped off in Pooley Bridge and it has changed so much from when I last visited over 10 years ago. A new bridge and businesses. The centre has new car parks and seems quite busy, which you would expect being part of the Lakes. I dread to think what Windermere and Bowness are like now, I avoided the temptation to go and see. It felt so great to be out and walking again and seeing the Lakeland hills after such a long time. My first walk was up Cat Bells and I could see quite a few people walking along the ridge. As I enjoyed it so much I am already looking at going back for another visit and walking Cat Bells.

I am trying to sort out one of my bicycles, it has a few issues that need some mechanical attention. I am using the great god google for some advice and will look to repair the bike so I can ride it again. I must have had this bike for over 30 years now. It has covered quite some distance and travelled around the country with me.

I have sorted my garden out and the tomato plants are now growing on well, I have planted some more seeds so I can get a bit of a succession crop if possible.

Income

I had a few dividends but not much else this month. My ISA had a few income events but not much to write home about. What I did notice was how the value of the funds increased around the time of the UK tax year end/start. The value of the funds have now dropped as the new UK tax year is well and truly under way. I have had a quick check on future dividends next month and also had a look at a few company reports to see if dividends will be due later this year. It seems that some will be due and I can wait until closer to the time to see what the final declared/approved dividend will be.

Expenses

Expenses have been manageable this month and mainly consisting of my basic living costs, council tax, utilities and food. I have received notice from my utilities company to say they will drop my monthly payment now that energy prices have reduced. That will help a bit and once summer arrives I should be able to cut down my energy usage and that will help me plan for next winter.

Month End Summary

I reasonable month and to some extent an expected end with investment totals down from the start of the month due to UK tax year activity. I am just hoping that investments will pick up and a more positive outlook start to appear over the next month. I will continue to monitor my budget, keep within my limits and try to spend my time and money wisely on things that will help me flourish and keep healthy. I am looking at other places to go and locations I have not visited for years to see how things have changed. I know it makes me feel old now but I have an interest in the social change that has happened and having the time to explore and people watch is enlightening. I haven’t found history so interesting and it will keep my mind active.

If you enjoy my content, please consider showing your support and Buy Me A Coffee by clicking Here.

Leave a comment