August – monthly update

Wow – another month over and I have just updated my spreadsheets. Ok, this month was good for dividend income. I received a good wedge of cash this month as a few companies pay out this month. I also had my regular saver account mature and pay my 6% interest. All done and closed, so back in there quickly to open a new one for this year and plough money into it on a regular basis. This year it will only play 5% which is still good compared to the savings account norm. It would be great if I could save more in there but it has restrictions which cap the total that you can save.

I have pushed money into my ISA and SIPP this month using the dividends received. My ISA account is about to have a platform move so I will then be unable to trade while this ‘transfer’ happens. That’s a bit of a pain, can understand why having done website re-platforms as a job role but its annoying when you experience it. In the meantime I track the growth, which is good this month.

All this positive news helps to give me focus and avoid the hell that is my working life. I know, people post that I should move, the pay is good and I’m in my “one-more-year” mode trying to just stick this one out to reach a threshold and then just call it quits! Hang my boots up and not work for a while – if at all. In another twist and turn, my counterpart on the supplier side of the project has resigned! just shows how s**t this project is. It just adds to the rubbish and office politics that I’m surrounded by. People are falling by the wayside as each month progresses. Being positive I have been doing things outside work to take my mind off all this rubbish.

So bank holiday weekend involved a visit to a velodrome to see a cycling event. So fabulous to see the tandems – yes tandems – doing over 25mph on the oval track. The added complexity here? The stokers were all blind! All trusting the front person to keep them on course and upright. Things like that just make your troubles seem so trivial. Some great time trails and points races seen. The para athletes were so inspiring. How to reset your mind.

I also managed to go to a T20 match. Now my grandfather was a real cricket fan and would watch the long matches – I really had no enthusiasm or patience. T20 mind was a really different thing – loved it! Something to tick off my bucket list. A great game and with the result known when you left at the end of the evening. Could easily do that again but the final is tomorrow! so will have to wait until next year.

Now looking to find some more fun experiences to do over the next few months – plus a weekend away somewhere.  More of this is good for my mind and body.

So crack on into September and keep this saving momentum up and reach that goal.

Nearly there…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

