June – Monthly Update

This month seems to have flown by – some of this has been due to being on holiday! Two weeks off, travelling around Scotland. The weather has been great and I have felt very relaxed and carefree. I feel revived although I doubt it will last long.

I really don’t care about ‘The Man’, it’s been a terrible few weeks on the run up to my holiday and I …SOOOOO… needed to get out of the office. Another guy left the team too, he wasn’t liking the job and the office environment either  – glad I am not the only one feeling this way! He has managed to find another job so has run as fast as possible out of the door…

It’s just a matter of finding a new job and getting through the stupid interview processes that are in place involving online tests and multiple interviews. It used to be a simple process now its a long cycle of assessments and probing. The sooner I can escape the better. Permanent roles just aren’t out there, it seems that they are being offered as fixed-term contracts only. The way of the beast now…. “Nuff Said!

I am currently in contact with a recruitment agent about a possible role but I don’t hold out much hope – plus I need to get time off work to attend an interview! Not good when I have just got back from a 2 week holiday – “You want MORE time off?“.

How have my finances done? Pretty good actually, my expenses this month are down as I have been away, my saving rate is higher this month as a result. My holiday is normally a walking one, so no retail therapy and expensive meals out. I have been quite frugal and have been trying to find any way of increasing my savings rate and cut costs. I don’t think I can cut any more off my costs. Looking at needs not wants.

My actual net worth is still plateauing – as much as I add to the pot, it is just treading water making up for the fall in investment values. Overall since I started on this FI path my net worth has increased 6% – not very good in comparison to other FIers who manage to get double-digit growth. I started off on the path really well as there were so many things I could do to make a difference, so in my first year I did make a double-digit % but since then it has dropped off. I have exhausted any more avenues to reduce costs.

I have a bad investment allocation and have been reviewing and re-balancing to gain some growth. Most of my funds are now in ETFs and I have moved into cheaper funds and cut account fees. I will have dividend tax to pay this year and I am moving the shares into ISA and SIPP accounts to try and prevent this in future years.

My shares from a previous employer (ShareSave and Share Option schemes) have been hit hard by the fluctuating market and the sector they are in has been hit harder than most. I cannot sell all in one go due to CGT so need to sell chunks each year and spread the risk across the market by buying funds. The share price is down at the moment and they have been giving out special dividends so want to balance the sell offs with dividend payments.

Pension accounts have been growing although the fund prices seem to have taken a dive at the end of this month but overall I am still making positive inroads on this part of my FI planning and taking advantage of employer contributions and tax credits. They will not be enough to live on until I combine with a state pension – if it exists when I reach 67. I commented on this in my previous post as the annual statements are just a joke.

Back to working for ‘The Man’ tomorrow and I really don’t enjoy going into work. I could do with trying to find another career path as my current career feels like a dead-end as I am really fed up with the ‘s***’ and  BS that I have to put up with every day.

I hate being in an office all day and my health is really starting to be affected by it, my holiday has helped to illustrate this due to my lack of fitness. Need to find a way of rebalancing my life and getting my mojo back.

Self-confidence and Self-respect at an all time low in the work area of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

