HoneyPot Progress

I have spent some time this weekend reviewing where I am. How is my HoneyPot doing? When will I reach FI? I could possibly say I am FIRE now. The fund is looking pretty good and I am now seeing a positive increase rather than a negative return when I compare LY / TY monthly figures.

I am pushing spare money into my newly opened SIPP and I am currently showing a loss but I think that is due to the fees and the drop in my selected fund prices over the past few weeks. I will “keep calm and carry on”. This is a long term savings path and I need to keep saving hard and making the most of the tax free accounts available to me. While I am still working I want to take advantage of any tax breaks and plough spare cash in to useful diverse savings areas so I can feel happy with my HoneyPot over the long term.

It needs to last me at least until I can draw my state and final salary pension when I am 67 – if they still exist then? Can never tell what will happen with pensions either company or state ones.

To get a full state pension, I still need to contribute a few more years of NI into the state pot.

I have been browsing the job sites for any interesting jobs but nothing about. I will continue to browse and start rattling a few of my network contacts. I am thinking of changing direction just need to find the right thing. I am reading up on how others have changed direction and what the pros/cons have been so I can try and work out the best path to take so I don’t make the same mistakes along the way.

I don’t want a job in London and so its a bit sparse in my immediate vicinity. I will continue to browse. I have heard that someone I used to work with has been head-hunted and has been offered a job where they can work from home most of the time. I read the US FIRE blogs and plenty of them have managed to find a similar home-based role. I could do with something like that, with the odd trip out to face-to-face meetings.

Something similar to an old job I had and enjoyed where I was in a sense ‘field’ working and able to work from different work locations as well as home. It allowed me to ‘mix it up’ and vary the people I met and worked with and feel like I was ‘making the difference’ that provides that ‘self-worth’ that I crave.

I will continue to read around the blogs and research options and see what fits. I need to end the weekend on a positive note! Onward and Upward on the FIRE trail.

3 thoughts on “HoneyPot Progress

  1. We found the same as you – because we don’t want to work in our major city, there are far fewer jobs available. In 6 months of looking, I only found 2 I felt I was able to go for. Luckily, I was already employed and looking for a change. I wasn’t yet at your stage of really needing to get out. That does put the pressure on a bit.

    Sounds like you are working on a bunch of different angles, though. Persistence will win in the end. Also, great to hear about the honeypot!

  2. Good to hear that the HoneyPot is showing positive returns. All the best with your job hunting, I hope you find something you consider worthwhile.

    With my own job hunting, there are quite a few jobs I can go for but not many that I actually want to do, in the location I want. I recall when I was looking for work after I graduated, I was prepared to commute to Leeds from Manchester, which would have been an 80 mile round-trip! It’s not something I want to do at this stage of my life/career!

    • I have never had a job that is less than 50 miles round trip. That’s the issue of living in a small town rather than a city. Good luck with the job hunting, its good to know that there are jobs you can go for but chose not to apply for. Hold out for one that fits is a great plan. I find I start to panic and just take anything offered to gain an income. Age seems to be a negative factor for me regardless of the discrimination laws.

      I don’t see any jobs that I can go for at the moment, unless I commute to London. By the time I have done that and paid the extortionate rail fares I will be worse off income-wise.
      I think I am in a too restricted market due to my skills. I remember going to an interview and the interviewer said I was a ‘dying breed’ as they had not see anyone with my skills for ages (which I guess could be spun as a ”you are out of touch and not up to date”.

      Really hard in IT when you work at companies that do not want to train you and then drop you as soon as they decide you don’t have the skill-set they want – rather than train you and let you expand. I can’t remember the last training course paid for by my employer – must have been about 7 years ago now. They all say they will offer training but when you get there it just doesn’t appear as you are too busy on critical projects to be allowed time to go on a training course.

Leave a Reply

