Where does the time go?

Its been a long time since I last posted on the site.

I have been busy and not really on much of an FI focus either. August has been a busy month for me. My work load has fluctuated in the treadmill and things are not too bad really. It is definitely a less stressful job to my last one and not getting any s* from people trying to preserve their jobs and fight to stay alive is a real blessing that I am starting to enjoy.

I have also had the ‘hassle’ of jury service. ‘The Man’ does not pay me for this ‘civil duty’ so I needed to keep this to a minimum so I could earn a reasonable monthly income. A benefit of my FI ways means that my expenses are far lower than my income so I can manage to cope with a loss of income for a short while.

With the bank holiday dropping within the jury service period, I only had to do 9 days – Woop! My duty is now complete and I am now waiting to see how much money I will receive as ‘allowances’ for the days I ‘attended’. It was nice weather so having a proper lunch time was pretty impressive, having time to go to a coffee shop and sit and take my time over lunch was great and going home early when dismissed from court was very much a novelty.

I realise I must take my lunch time break properly and relax and also go home on time once I am back on the treadmill. Once the clock clicks on home time I need to get up and walk out. I shouldn’t feel any duty to ‘The Man’, my job is just serving a purpose – one of gaining FI freedom.

I used to enjoy and find my job/career fulfilling. It gave me a sense of purpose and I had some status. Now, I just bumble along, no respect, no status – just a job.

I am now concentrating on my diary and fill it with experiences and outings that will make me feel happy but without excessive costs.

A good one was the heritage weekend – a chance to go to some places and not have to pay the ridiculous prices and see areas normally closed to the public. Really enjoyed that weekend and added in a trip to see a sport which I enjoy watching. Getting more activities into my diary is making a big difference to my well being.

My checkup visit to the dentist proved that this goal is being achieved. I don’t have the tension pains and jaw problems that I used to have!! Yay!!!   The underlying stress that twisted my muscles and tensed my body has gone. I am being released from the years of stress-filled employment with companies that sucked you dry – then dumped you without any guilt.

Roll on the day when I can say I am free from the need to work and gain the ‘choice’ to work.

3 thoughts on “Where does the time go?

  1. It REALLY made me smile to see this post! I’m so happy for you. It’s fab that your work situation is so different, and so much better! Thoroughly pleased. Looking forward to hearing about more happy times in future.

  2. One of the things I loved about going back to Uni was being able to sit outside on a beautifully sunny day, take my time over lunch with friends, and even sit and study out there if time permitted before the next class. I’m glad that your Jury Duty was over in a reasonably short time, and that you were able to enjoy some other perks!

    I think I am heading in the opposite direction to you regarding my jaw, though. I wake up in the mornings, and while I don’t think I’ve been grinding, I definitely clench my teeth. I will have to speak to my dentist at the end of the year. Silly thing is, I don’t feel as if I am particularly stressed…

Leave a Reply

