A great post on “How to Quit your Job” – Transition

How to quit your job

Just read the above post by TEA – so good I just had to post a link and say, can’t wait for the day.

I am really starting to look at whether I can leave my job this year. I may not be fully FI but I am far enough along the way to at least give up work for a while and may be find some part time work later on.

The current job isn’t engaging or inspiring and now that I have started to experience the ‘bully’ – “not listening, just do it” management response. I want to leave. I am fed up of being in and seeing others in this situation – where you have to some how just make things work using whatever sticky tape you can find to get it done in 2 weeks when it really needs 3 months just because their plan only allows for 2 weeks.

The “How much is enough” question does keep haunting me. I forget that although my money app tells me how much I am spending as expenses each month, I am also spending on things that I will not need to once I stop working.

My fuel expenses – may go down [or get worse] depending on how much travel I want to do with my free time.

My food expenses – those lunches and coffees at work will go. Not that I spend much on this anyway – part of my frugal ways πŸ™‚

I can actually start looking at gardening and growing my own food, it would form part of my day, working on my garden (I could possibly get an allotment long-term – huge waiting list in my local area though) and growing my own food will reduce my food expenses.

My clothing expenses will reduce – I can stop buying clothes for work.

I can get a dog – up until now my only pet has been a cat because they are independent and can look after themselves during those long working/commuting days and weekends!Β  A dog requires you to be present and they are dependent on you to provide food, walks, company and training but can give back such a great reward in the form of companionship and love.

I can go back to interests I had when I was younger – drawing, painting and photography. If I can get back to a good standard I could possibly make this a side hustle income stream. Knowing I don’t have to sell to earn my food some how helps those creative juices.

Saving on some expenses and having new ones that don’t go over my expense thresholds will keep me on the FI path. If I balance each increase with a reduction on something else, I should come out a winner.

 

6 thoughts on “A great post on “How to Quit your Job” – Transition

  1. My spending has definitely come down after quitting…no more after-work drinks, expensive work clothes, coffee shop lattes etc. You tend to have more time to think about your spending, find better deals and stop paying a premium for convenience because you need something immediately.

    A dog will def increase your expenses so I guess that’s a trade off with the companionship and love!

    Talking of which, I’m loving the green savings rate bar on the right of your site…68% is epic.

    TEA

    • I am pretty pleased with my 68% too. I have been frugal and any dividend and rental income has been reinvested into NISAs and shares so that means my savings rate is high – that and no mortgage on my main residence!

    • Hi UTMU,
      I think you have it spot on there. I have spent the last few years getting my financial planning act together to give me the option of FI.

      The psychological side IS the part for me to conquer…I have been spending so much time invested in work, my non-work time is poor. Giving up work means I need to find stimulating things to fill that time and get my brain working again. Which is why I posted about gardening, volunteering, exercise and a dog. Creating a new daily routine that does not revolve around work will be the challenge.

      I live on my own so an empty house isnt much of an incentive to give up the job – I need to look at the alternatives. I am sure that it is the standard dilemma everyone ‘retiring’ has – “what do you do with all that free time?”.

  2. I suspect that if you think you might be able to “afford” to give up work then you most likely can. There will probably be lots of ways of cutting back on spending that you can find if you have to. πŸ™‚

    I’m totally with you on how demotivating it is to be forced to rush a project and put out something that doesn’t work anywhere near as well as it should just because management want to be able to tick a box and meet a target. Money wasted, customers let down.

    Hope you’re starting to really firm up your escape plan

    • Thanks for the comment, yes I probably can afford to give up work. It is just a matter of what I fill that time with and making sure that whatever it is it does not cost more than being in work πŸ™‚

      My escape plan is ‘in progress’ and looking at getting out into the fresh air of the real world.

Leave a Reply

