Review of 2014

Although it isn’t quite the end of the year and I have some income yet to account for in my figures, I have updated my monthly savings rates for this year and the passive income sources.

I have increased my share holding in Glaxo this month as the price has been dropping and although I have a loss at the moment, I am expecting this to even out over next year as –fingers crossed– the price rises.

I will receive a small dividend payment in the new year from them. I have only received £50 in dividends this month, which although small, is an increase from this time last year.

I am trying to invest in shares that provide a good dividend income as I would like to use this an income source in the future. At the moment, I am re-investing this dividend income to build my holdings.

In general, my monthly savings rate has averaged over 50% this year as I have tried to concentrate on saving and cutting down on my expenses. My consumerism addiction has waned considerably this year plus I am enjoying walking and exercising and not shopping – thanks to my partner who wants to get out and be active rather than watch TV and use retail therapy as a form of exercise..lol..

My net worth has increased this year overall but the last few months have been running at a plateau as the fluctuating share prices have impacted my portfolio v cash/assets.

Looking back over the past few years I can see how my general income source has declined. Since I was made redundant from what was my best paying job, I have lost out due to my employment being so shaky. I have been employed by 4 companies over that time due to buy outs and that has meant that I have not had the opportunity of sharesave schemes which really made a difference to my income sources in the past. I only have my basic salary to work with now (no share options/scheme or bonuses) and reducing my expenses has helped to maintain my savings opportunities it is easy to see how those ‘extras’ that I had access to in the past have made a big difference to my income.

At least when I had these, I used the money wisely rather than frittering it away, so I have no mortgage on my main residence.

I can end the year feeling happy that I have grown my net worth and my financial position is looking better. I have learnt a lot this year about saving and investing and am continuing to aim for FI. The day I can give up work will be ‘the best’.

One thought on “Review of 2014

  1. Hi Sparklebee,

    It looks like you’ve had a busy and successful year all around.

    My dividends weren’t much higher this month either, but like yourself, it’s moving in the right direction!

    Congratulations on saving over 50% of your wage this year. I believe 50% is an impressive figure to shoot for, and one to be proud of. Not having a mortgage on your main residence is more impressive still!

    Keep up the good work, and here’s to a successful 2015!

    Huw

Leave a Reply

